“This is no place for love!”

Posted: December 15, 2014 in short stories
Tags: , ,

journey to Europe

 

Journey to Europe

November 2003,

The Great Sahara Desert,

Northern Africa,

Day 17

 

“Two more hours my love, two more hours and then, it would be over.”

The voice I heard belonged to the fat man; the man who dragged his wife into this death race.  I had watched him for a few days, carrying his wife along with words of encouragements, showing her he loved her and that he was sorry for the dilemma, allowing her lean on him whist they trekked through the cursed desert and stopping every now and then to pick her to her feet.

 

The fat man was in love, but this wasn’t the place for love, they were slowing us down, the both of them and sooner or later, they would give up like the others.  Our transporters had left us eight days ago, the Arabians, they had led us to the place our money could not pay for, the point of no return, and then, they had turned their trucks around, leaving us in the hands of our fate and with just enough water that would last less than three days. We were exactly fifteen when they left us, now, we were four.

“The path leads straight on,” The one that tied the red scarf said, “Do not swerve, just keep going straight, and you will discover the ocean, the Ship awaits, hurry don’t lag.”

I nodded then I turned around and started the trek to my destination, my salvation, the Ship that would take me to Italy.

I didn’t have to wait for the Arabians to leave before I started my journey, this wasn’t my first time on these tracks, I have walked this road twice, and this was going to be my last.

 

“I can’t move again, I am tired! Let us rest, please!” I heard the fat man’s wife say.

“Let’s stop please, just for a minute.” His plea was directed to me, I stopped and watched him, they wouldn’t make it, I was sure of that.

“We can’t stay here, I can’t wait, let’s go, let’s move.” The last of the four of us said. I placed my stare on her, she was beautiful, I wondered how she had survived to this point, having being raped quiet a number of times by the Arabians, I wasn’t sure she would make it this far, I was wrong.

I watched him lift his wife to her feet, “Baby, please try and walk, we will soon get there.” He said.

 

The beautiful girl was already on track, I followed suit. I could hear the fat man encourage his wife behind me, she was not going to make it, and she was going to drag him down with her.

We had left Nigeria three weeks ago; everybody had the same thing in mind, greener pasture. We all wanted a better life, like our brothers and sisters that had taken this same path, we wanted to succeed.

 

I took my water pack and gobbled the remainder of its contents. We were five minutes to impact; I remembered the spot I was standing, just behind the mountain ahead, laid the mouth of the Ocean, and our Ship was waiting.

 

They didn’t know what was ahead, they didn’t know about the ambush. I dumped my backpack; I needed to be light for the race. The beautiful girl right in front of me did the same; she dumped her handbag and rolled her sleeves up. She knew! I should have guessed earlier, this wasn’t her first time either.

 

I sighted the Ship and started to run, moving my legs as quick as I could, the beautiful girl was running too, she way ahead of me in fact; she was no learner! I could hear the fat man behind me screaming, “Help us, Help us,” but this was no place for love. I did not flinch; I just kept my eyes on my salvation, my Ship to Italy.

Soon the ambushers appeared and I still don’t know if they were with the Government, but it wasn’t an ambush anymore, because i was well aware of their plan and was far away from their grasp. I was already very close and the Ship was starting to move, I could see the men on deck rallying around, they were going to leave us behind like they did the last time I was here, the beautiful girl took the jump and landed on board, and then I went after her, throwing my whole weight from the top of the raised platform, it was a close call, I almost missed. I clung to a rail, she helped me in, the beautiful girl, then, something flew in, it fell right on me and knocked me out, I went blank, everything went black.

 

I woke up a few hours later; I was on the Ship, headed for Italy and sitting opposite me was the fat man, I was shocked.

“Where is your wife?” I managed to ask, wondering how he made it to the Ship.

“She asked me to leave her.” He replied.

I shook my head and said, “This is no place for love.”

THE END.

Comments
  1. no place for love indeed.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. sheldonk2014 says:

    When it’s survival there is no place for love. This one of the stories of life that quiet frankly doesn’t have a happy ending. Where the two go hand in hand into the sun set. In only happens this way in movies. Great work. Many blessings Moses, peace

    Liked by 1 person

  3. sheldonk2014 says:

    Your words speak and jump off the screen, effortlessly read, alive with images, leaving on stone unturned. If you keep writing, I will read

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ….and another. Big-ups bro.

    Liked by 1 person

please drop a comment...

