The Village Christmas: Day 2

Posted: January 4, 2015 in short stories

wpid-img_20150104_115157.jpg

#The Christmas Church Service

“Some people are sleeping; some people are sleeping while I am preaching!” Shouted the Pastor from the pulpit.

I gave my twin a slight elbow to shake him off his slumber, he opened his eyes.

We were in a Baptist Church, the First Baptist Church in my village, and the pastor had been talking non-stop for the past hour. (I must confess, he was boring me to Death!)

“Ushers,” He continued in his lullaby-perfected voice, “Ushers do your work!”

I could see the Usher standing before me walk towards a sleeping member seated at the front benches of the church and I guessed he was going to wake the dude up.

What followed shocked me off my spine!

The knock that landed on this unsuspecting dude’s head was totally unexpected and barbaric! The church members were smiling, some even laughing!

“Yes! Very good!” shouted the pastor, “Spare the rod and spoil the child! It is written in the bible; check it out if you think I am lying! In fact I am giving everybody the right to knock anybody sleeping beside you!”

Well, the remainder of the service continued with everybody looking around themselves for any sleeping member, they weren’t concerned with whatever their pastor had to say anymore! They were all hunting, tracking the next sleeping victim!

My mum turned sideways to look at my twin, I followed suit, and his eyes where shinning brighter than ever—fully awake.

“Aren’t you going to sleep anymore?” she whispered.

He smiled, he definitely didn’t want to receive any head splitting knock from a barbarous Villager!!!

Comments
  1. Bethula says:

    Wow! Really? This cannot be true!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. trablog says:

    This is definitely an interesting place!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. fictionlimbo says:

    yes o…wait till you hear the hunting episode day 3…so much usually happen during a day…but I just pick one particular incidence and write on…:)

    Like

  4. Robin says:

    That would never happen in any church I have attended in the U.S. Our ushers are not armed with anything more than the Sunday bulletin 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. sheldonk2014 says:

    You know religion can bring all sort of behavior out of people. That mite not otherwise come out. I am sorry to say this and there isn’t any disrespect intended but it’s like talking to a dunk person you are talking to the alcohol and not the person. When the strength of the spirit takes over ………
    ….

    Liked by 1 person

  6. MamaPains says:

    I can not believe that! I am a Christian and I don’t believe in physical abuse unless defending yourself. He should’ve left it be. Now the whole service isn’t paying him any attention! Geeze!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. amcmulin914 says:

    We need to push the discussion further with things like this. Move passed just being dazzled by the craziness and weirdness and start observing the form, the underlying mechanics, of what creates this situation. For everyone that says it’s crazy, but then says they are still a “Christian”, to me appear conflicted and equally crazy!

    The whole story of Christ is that he is sacrificed, gruesomely of course, by his own supreme deity Father, that on the face of it is more mind numbingly crazy, then a bunch of people being mind controlled by a a single “charismatic” leader and engaging in a little group bullying.

    This made me think of my own part in that Flash Fiction chain, this moment you described is what is behind the Fictional moment I created there. Reality is stranger than Fiction! What’s weird about Artists is that we’re sort of like those preachers, manipulating our representations for desired effects on the audience, though hopefully our desires are little more sophisticated than group abuse/control and our own money power, but still the methodology is similar isn’t it?

    Liked by 1 person

  8. fictionlimbo says:

    Very similar! #this is a very hot point of view that i may have to write on latter 🙂

    Like

please drop a comment...

